Google Will Now Notify Reviewers When Brands Respond

Knowledge is a core value at SCG. This weekly column highlights something interesting learned recently by one of our team members. We hope you find it intriguing, relevant and informative:

I recently blogged about the importance of responding to negative reviews online, but as Google has a tendency to do, they’ve added a feature that changes the game for online brand managers. This month, Google announced it will begin notifying consumers when a business responds to their Google Reviews, prompting them to view the reply.

The email notification is sent a mere five minutes after a response is posted. The five-minute delay is intended to give the business time to make any corrections to their response after submitting. The notification email informs the customer of a reply to their Google Review and contains a link to a page with the business’s full response. The review response is also published on Google Search and Google Maps.

google business review notification

While it already should be common practice for businesses to respond to their Google Reviews, marketers are predicting this feature will raise consumers’ awareness of business responses, possibly shifting consumers to expect a reply. This update indicates that Google wants its business reviews feature to be an outlet for brands to interact with their customers, and brands should jump at the opportunity to do so.

At SCG we are constantly advising clients on strategies for responding to business reviews, no matter what the outlet. Contact me to learn how we can help your business.

Tagged with

Dana Farmer

Dana creates compelling content for clients and gets it in front of the right eyes. She has managed public relations and social media for dozens of brands. With a background in Journalism, she’s a firm believer that getting the story right yields big results […] Read Bio »

Subscribe

Click below to get all the crazy good marketing insight from SCG delivered straight to your inbox. We won’t bug you too often and we won’t share your email. Promise.